Reviews – Maiden Home

Reviews

Real feedback from real Maiden Home customers. We never forge, edit or use incentives to influence these reviews.

Based on 1090 reviews
87%
(945)
4%
(48)
3%
(34)
3%
(33)
3%
(30)
Beautiful, Perfect, All The Positive Adjectives!

My biggest trepidation going into purchasing this sofa was of course not being able to see/try it in person prior to ordering. I've stalked this sofa for roughly 2 years carefully combing through the internet looking for any reviews or folks willing to chat regarding its quality, comfort and real life color (for certain colorways). Eventually I mustered the courage to click that purchase button. Remorseful thoughts swirled in and out of my mind but I stayed true to my decision and just hoped for the best outcome.

Lead Time:
This sofa was ordered on 4/5/22 and arrived in my home on 5/24/22. Maiden Home had sent an email on 5/17 notifying me that the sofa passed inspections + shipped and was to be in the hands of the delivery company around mid June. Talk about a pleasant surprise to already be scheduling for delivery on 5/23! That's a total of 7 weeks from purchase to delivery! Now keep in mind, with the current supply shortages this lead time may not be the case for others purchasing later on. But this is what happened for me during the time frame I ordered. Quite lucky.

Comfort:
This is one comfortable sofa. Currently, it's like a slightly firm cloud. Strange way to describe a cloud, no? But that's how I would describe the current condition of the cushion. You don't sink deep into it and disappear into the dark depths of the sofa. You perch on the cushion but your derriere feels perfectly cradled by the plush down filling below. No sore butts here!
**Though this is the initial comfort of the cushion, I do expect it to break in a little more (soften up) as we continue to use it daily.

Material:
The fabric I chose was the Performance Textured Linen in the color Flax. I am guilty of ordering multiple swatches of the same fabrics to get a better understanding of how the colors looks on a bigger field. But I highly recommend it. The colors look different from viewing just one small fabric square to multiple squares placed side by side! I generally am suspicious of most images posted on blogs reviewing this sofa. Chances are, a lot of them are edited to be over exposed so the home looks bright light and airy. Thus losing the real depiction of the colors. This is where ordering multiple swatches helped me personally.

Flax, is a lovely off white color. It reminds me of plain hummus. Not the red pepper/cilantro/eggplant flavor variations. I'm talking about that creamy warm toned original hummus. I would say it is a great choice for those who want a lighter ("white") sofa but still want some forgiveness in terms of the eventual dirtiness that accumulates from daily use.

The linen fabric is a little stiff, but I expect it to break in more over time. The important thing is that it isn't scratchy on your face when you just want that midday siesta or if you have a guest crashing overnight on your sofa.

Quality:
I can't say much (yet) in this area as my Dune sofa is just days old in my home. But I expect to report back on this later on. For now the quality seems great. Stitching is secure. Solid build. No unusual scents. Cushions don't look frumpy from lounging.

TLDR;
This sofa is better than I could have imagined. I absolutely love it. All my worries and hesitations immediately disappeared when it arrived in my home. No regrets! I hope this review will help anyone else out there who is in the same boat as I was when it comes to large online furniture purchases. It's terrifying to buy without trying, I get it! But let me tell you that this is a real review from a real customer who did a lot of research on this sofa and brand and came out with a great experience.

Love the Sofa

The blue mohair varick sofa is everything I hoped it would be - comfortable, right proportions, and mohair has a sheen that can’t be beat. Immediately took a nap on it once it was delivered.

So Glad I Took The Leap

Like many others, I read the amazing reviews and took the leap to purchase my Carmine without ever seeing it. I ordered swatches and poured coffee on them to see if they would stain. I thought I would go for a dark gray couch to hide any accidents but the fabric's resistance to liquid gave me confidence to purchase a lighter blue fabric. I originally wanted linen but the melange weave was softer and tighter. I also did a lot of measuring against my old Havertys couch so I had a better understanding of the Carmine's dimensions. The Carmine took 4 months to get to me but it was worth the wait. The piece is very hefty in terms of weight. The framing is definitely solid. I'm glad I purchased from Maiden Home and not Bassett. The Carmine has eight-way hand-tied springs whereas the Bassett tailored couch only has coiled. I especially enjoyed Maiden Home's updates and being able to check in at any time to see the status of my Carmine. I purchased an Ethan Allen bed at the same time and there was no update whatsoever. I just had to wait in the dark and hope they didn't delay my order. Maiden Home lives up to their reputation. They provide quality furniture and excellent customer service. I would highly recommend.

Warren - couch and ottoman

I took a big risk and ordered this couch unseen but I love my Warren. I initially ordered the two pieces in denim without ordering fabric swatches. I felt like it would be difficult to know how a full sized couch would look based on a small fabric square. The fabric guide online was accurate and the couch looks even better in person. I changed my mind within 24 hours and instead of ordering the denim, I ordered the blue chevron performance fabric. Customer service was very helpful and cancelled the order since I was within the 24 hour window. I recreated the order and was refunded for the previous one. The estimated wait time provided was very close to the delivery date - customer service emailed to let me know it might be one to two weeks late but it was delivered within a few days of the original estimate. The fabric is beautiful and easy to clean. I follow their care instructions and vacuum off the pet fur once/week and rotate the cushions once/month. I love the lower profile and the classic look. My cat clawed it in a few places on the back which pulled some threads loose. I simply draped a blanket over the area and it still looks amazing and she doesn't scratch it any more. Overall, I am very happy with customer service and with my beautiful couch. Do your research and take your time before you order. It's worth it.

So far, fine.

I bought the Ludlow. It arrived as expected. Maiden Home "design advisors" were of no help whatsoever when I ordered. The price changed randomly, which they corrected, and when I asked for help, they couldn't be bothered. I do like my Ludlow but because of the incredible lack of service, I can't recommend Maiden Home. 50/50 at best.

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience. We always strive for our Design Advisors to be an informative and transparent resource, and our team is always happy to help answer any questions you may have throughout the ordering process, as well as beyond. We are glad that our team was able to address your concerns throughout the ordering process, and our Design Advisory Manager has reached out directly to address any additional feedback you may have to share, as we're always eager to improve. Please let us know of any questions in the meantime!

This chair is pure bliss..

I LOVE this chair. It’s stylish, comfortable, well built and pure bliss to sit in. I bought this for a reading corner and it is exactly what I’ve always wanted (needed?).. it’s perfection!

Love! Beautiful! Somewhat stinky.

I give the Dune 5 out if 5 stars! It is so so beautiful! Super comfy. The fabric is very nice. My family loves it and everyone who has seen it raves about it and it’s comfort.

My only complaint is it is stinky. I am super sensitive to smells and very cautious about toxins. It is the whole reason I bought from Maiden. I was surprised that it has a smell. It still has the smell after 3 weeks. I am not taking a star off yet because I am assuming it will dissipate and when it does this baby is 5 out of 5 stars.

So Happy with the Leonard Sofa

I searched many, many websites looking for a good quality, stylish linen slipcovered sofa . I wanted a sofa with a lower overall height profile , a bench seat, deeper than the sofa we had but not too deep for our small family room, a seat higher than 16 inches , a well made sofa made in The United States, , a sofa that did not cost over $5,000, a sofa that would not take 9 months to get , a sofa with a modern feel , a slip cover I could easily clean . The Leonard had it all! I had no choice but to buy it!
The performance linen dew 85 inch sofa met all my expectations. The sofa arrived about 3.5 months after I placed the order, I was very pleased with what I found to be a fast turnaround in these pandemic times. The Maiden home team members sent out swatches quickly, responded quickly to the questions I sent them, gave me a delivery window and the delivery company actually was able to deliver a week earlier if I wanted, yes please. I had to wait a little longer to get the dew shade of linen rather than the standard clamshell, it was worth the wait. The dew is the classic looking natural shade of linen, off white with a little grey, a little beige woven in it. The clamshell linen swatch was gorgeous, but a bit too brown for my interiors, but perfect for the modern house with white and beige walls.
I was very slightly worried when the sofa arrived in her factory fresh splendor as she was very stiff and buttoned up looking, too neat. My apprehension turned to pure joy as the linen pillows and the slipcover loosened up a bit and became more relaxed and characteristic of the beauty of linen slipcovered furniture. My husband and I are older and it was getting harder to get up from our previous sofa that had a seat 16 inches high. The Leonard seat is much higher at 19 inches, although it slopes down to 16 inches at the front of the seat to the floor when one is sitting on it . That sounds like a big slope but it is not when you see it in person, and it is really comfortable to sit on. The bench seat is so supportive and firm, more like sitting on a spring coil mattress than a squishy sofa. That might not be appealing to some buyers, but we find it to be perfect. For a nap on this sofa, you may as well be on a bed .
So happy we chose the Leonard sofa. She is stylish and beautiful, does not take up a lot of space, the arms are slim so you get more actual seat length out of her . The back cushions she comes with are comfortable, really no need for any more than 2 or 3 accessory decorative pillows on her. We really, really love the Leonard sofa. I almost forgot, any dirt or spills on her come off easily with a little spot cleaning with a water dampened towel. With a dog coming in from the muddy spring yard and jumping on her immediately, we certainly had to do that many times already.

Good quality so far

I ordered the Carmine for our guest house living room. I liked that I could order it in a performance fabric and see large swatches of the fabric in advance. It arrived in a timely manner, much faster than the rest of the custom furniture I have ordered during the pandemic. I was also appreciative that the customer service team was able to work with me on the delivery as our home requires a smaller truck in the driveway. Overall the furniture quality seems to be really great with good attention to detail. The price is excellent. My only critique like others have mentioned is that I wish the legs came in a turned style. They appear too modern for the sofa and having an alternative option I think would have been nice. Overall I am pleased and look forward to seeing if it stands the test of time.

Qty. 2 65" Sullivans in Pebbled Leather

Research phase:
I ordered swatches in performance linen and textured linen to see how the fabrics looked and felt in person. Textured linen was softest. I also did a spot treatment test on the material by marking it with pen (something my toddler would inevitably do, no doubt) and then spot cleaned it and threw the swatch in the laundry to test for ease of stain removal (something I was anticipating doing with the slip cover line). The fabric didn't meet my standards/lifestyle so I opted for pebbled leather with a 65" Sullivan frame since the Dune is not available in leather. I do not regret this decision every time I wipe yogurt finger prints left by my toddler. The prices are comparable to restoration hardware.

Ordering:
The online ordering process was quick and easy, once you scrutinize all the customizable options. The production status updates were appreciated. I receive two Sullivan sofas within the original lead time, I think a week or two ahead of schedule. Arranging white glove delivery was also easy. When my husband noticed a tear in the leather, we took photos and sent it to Maiden Home who was phenomenal at finding a resolution by replacing the entire sofa. They even let us hang on to the damaged one while the replacement was being constructed. From the time of delivery we noticed many loose staples would shed/fall out of unknown places. This only lasted a day or two and were easy to pick up with a vacuum.

Some pickiness:
65" is okay for 2 people but definitely not 3 to sit comfortably. This size was a room constraint so I don't necessarly regret it. The sofa legs do not entirely sit flat on the floor, almost at though they were installed at a slight angle. Luckily, the low setting of the sofa does not bring attention to this. The outside sides/arm rests of the Sullivan are not filled with cushion, best described like an art canvas with the wood frame and leather wrapped around hollowness. This lends to the leather pulling/stretching when the furniture was moved into place. Looks a little like a stretch plastic bag. Okay really pickiness there, the seams of the leather cording are glued, not serged together by stitching so it will be interesting to see how they hold up.

Wrapping it up with Pro's:
The overall feel is very comfortable. Their lead time was great considering how other vendors had astronomically long lead times coming out of the pandemic. Customer service was equally wonderful. Can't wait to see what else Maiden Home launches in the future.

Love but also notes

Loves:
1) Performance tweed snow fabric is amazing. Truly beautiful.
2) Bench cushion and style, the design and construction is substantial. Lots of compliments!
3) Comfy and my favorite seat in the home

Notes:
1) The bench cushion fabric will wrinkle no matter what, but the pillows fare much better. Be sure to turn the pillows and bench cushion so things are sat on evenly.
2) I would have gone longer 80" or 80" instead of 75" which is really a comfortable sit for just 2. 3 is tight.
3) Bench cushion is soft, not as firm as I'd prefer

Crosby

This is our first big real furniture purchase and we could not be happier with selecting the Crosby couch. Wonderfully comfortable and very elegant and stylish.

Fix, Exchange or give partial Refund for the Sullivan Sofa and Ottoman.

VERY FRUSTRATED!
The 1 st Sullivan Sofa I ordered arrived with a transportation /belt wear on the now fraying fabric of the sofa corner area.
Back then, at that time, 2021, maidenhome offered a $300 partial refund, OR a furniture repair compay to come into my home and replace the back of the sofa fabric OR exchange and reorder with full credit.
I exchanged for a 2nd Sullivan Sofa with a higher wear count fabric-merino,
and I also purchased a matching Sullivan Ottoman.
This time upon delivery of the 2nd Sofa, in 2022, the sofa was a thicker fabric and better quality of workmanship, then the 1st Sofa,
1- BUT THE SPRINGS SQUEEK when I sit down and move around on one end.
2- AND the Ottoman did NOT match the Sofa. It had seams on the two sides and exposed thread stitching.
The Sofa had neither of these.
I requested to be given a partial refund, instead of the furniture company ripping apart fabric and springs on my home floor.
I know their pricing will be around the $300 range to FIX the back springs from squeeking. Maidenhome said it may have happened during transportation from NC.
Maiden home said they will not offer a partial refund and having people in my home floor to fix springs is the only solution. They since today, offered a partial refund after reading my review.
So to have people in my home to turn this huge sofa upside down and repair springs/dust cover, etc as the only solution, but am considering the partial refund , since this was posted.
Maidenhome said that the Ottoman did not match the sofa and would be exchanged.
They asked me to mail UPS -the fabric sample under the sofa seat.
I asked them if I could reuse/keep this ottoman and use elsewear. (This $725 foot stool) Maidenhome since offered to sell it to me at a 10% discount. Now $652

I dont know what they do with all the returned furniture pieces they get back, but it would make me happier as a customer. to feel like all this wasted time came with any kind of reward besides testing my patience that 3 pieces ALL had issues.
Maidenhome has had to EXCHANGE 2 items now and get 1 fixed in my home or get refunded.
Its a waste of everyone's time and money. I am dissapointed in the email interactions with Maidenhome, that is full of apologies but not asking how they can make it right. They give the options mentioned and you decide if you are happy or not with their options.

Maidenhome and all the employees who are supposed to have a FINAL quality control person verify that ALL custom made furniture
completed are made to the Maidenhome standard that I had hoped I could rely on.
Someone employed is NOT sittting on the sofa and also NOT seeing that the ottoman does NOT match the sofa.

2 Sullivan Sofas AND 1 matching Ottoman (that did not match the sofa), were NOT up to quality standards, and shipped out anyway.

(I still need the sofa fixed /or take partial refund
and will wait again many months before a NEW ottoman will be remade.)
This experience with these 3 orders placed with maidenhome are NOT resolved to my satisfaction and I am NOT a return customer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your pieces. We completely agree that your experience has fallen outside of our expectations, and we remain committed to correcting these concerns on your behalf, as quality is our top priority. In reviewing your concerns, our team has confirmed that the springs on your Sullivan were likely damaged during the shipping process, and we are glad to have been able to proceed with your preferred path forward towards making this right. Regarding your ottoman, we will be replacing this piece fully on your behalf, to ensure you have in your home pieces you will love for years to come. We understand you have been in touch with our Customer Care Manager, but please let us know of any additional questions at support@maidenhome.com.

coffee table is lovely

I love everything about this coffee table but I will say I may not have ordered had I known it takes 11 weeks to receive a coffee table. Yikes! but the table is lovely and we will enjoy is forever.

Love it

We took a risk ordering a couch online but it paid off ( previous couches have been from R&B). Most comfy and beautiful couch we have owned. Too soon to comment on durability.

Perfect

I ordered the small Sullivan loveseat and square footstool in performance melange weave, color flint. I had read the reviews, everything from too hard to too soft. I must be mama bear because for me the loveseat is "just right." The sofa is elegant and tasteful, I love the color, it's very comfortable and I'm so happy with it. The footstool is like a big pillow and it's actually nicer than I anticipated. Maiden Home got the items to me a couple weeks earlier than originally planned, which was nice. Delivery was great, too. Ordering furniture online could go either way, so I'm happy to say that this was an experience that had no disappointments.

Literally so perfect

I received my medium Morro Table in the Driftwood finish a few weeks ago and have to say it's one of my favorite pieces in my apartment. It's so minimal and yet so stunning. I'm currently using it as a side table to my Dune and I love how much space I have to style while it still being very functional. When I am in a larger apartment, my vision is to use this as a bedside table! The craftsmanship and quality are so apparent in this piece and I couldn't be happier with it.

A Dream!

I've had my Dune for about 3 weeks now and am completely in love. In a small Manhattan apartment, my 80" sofa offers such generous seating for guests without taking up a ton of space. I chose the scatter back and I'm really happy with it! I like that I can move the cushions to support my head or back depending on where or how I sit, which feels really unique to this design compared to other options I looked at. I also love that the seat cushion doesn't flatten after sitting in it with friends and roommates - it literally looks great all the time which I would never expect with such a comfortable and "cloud" like seat cushion. I get compliments on it every time someone new comes over, even before they sit down. Would absolutely recommend this piece!

So happy, no regrets!

I was so terrified to make a purchase this big without testing a couch in person - but the preponderance of other positive reviews persuaded me. I'm so glad I did. This couch is precisely what it claims to be - it looks classic/modern, trim, clean-cut -- and it feels like movie night! It's insanely comfy without being hard to "get out of" like other comfy couches we considered. The fabric is beautiful - and we received truly extraordinary customer service along the way. Maiden Home is now my #1 go to choice for any kind of furniture. Great experience, really excellent quality.

Gorgeous Bed

Received our Wythe Bed in Oyster and couldn't be happier. The bed itself is stunning; the fabric is elegant and feels more elevated than competitors. Also, delivery was exactly on time and day of delivery was a breeze with text message alerts and perfect assembly. Our primary bedroom feels like a sanctuary because of this gorgeous piece! Thank you Maiden Home!

A second chair

Following up on my previous review. We remain very happy with our Bond chair — in fact, we ordered a second one. However, we were disappointed to receive a product that felt in small ways inferior to the first. Maiden Home agreed that what we had received was substandard and was incredibly responsive and sent us a replacement chair. It seems like it was an aberration. But if we hadn’t had the first chair, we would have nothing to compare it to.

I LOVE my Dune! It is so comfy and fits perfectly inside my small apartment. When I am able to become a homeowner with a larger space I am definitely purchasing another Dune larger sized. It was worth every dollar and no buyer's remorse even not sitting on the couch until it arrived. The customer service from Maiden Home just tops off a great experience buying here. I will be back for more!

Very happy

The ordering process was easy, everything was delivered within the 12 week time frame we were told, the delivery went smoothly, and we are so happy with the quality and comfort of the furniture. Would highly recommend!

Customer support was exactly what you'd hope from a luxury brand

We have a Dune sectional and its got a very heavy/sturdy feel with comfortable cushions. After spotting an issue with one of the cushions starting to sink, I called Support and spoke with Brenda who was really pleasant and helpful. She asked me to email pics and from there I was corresponding with Gianna who's equally as great. After some investigation they resolved everything beyond our expectations and were communicative and professional throughout the whole process. If the comfort and quality of the couch isn't enough to make someone a fan, the service will push it over the top.

The greatest couch my butt has ever interacted with

This is easily the best thing I have every purchased for my home. I got an embarrassingly large sectional and ottoman in the light leather color. The leather is butter soft, the cushions are heaven and the pillows are the perfect amount of soft to firm ratio. I was anxious at spending this much on a couch (and I have 2 toddlers) but now that it’s here I’m SO glad I did. It can easily fit my entire family, even as my boys get bigger than me. Buy it, you won’t regret it.